This bibliography includes mainly items found at Memorial Library. If the item is available on the Internet, the title links to that site. Useful information may also be found at the Wisconsin State Historical Society Library; inquire there for additional titles and call numbers.
The Max Kade Institute for German-American Studies has a web page with useful genealogical information and links, especially for Pomerania.
Atlases | Bibliography | Biography | Coats of Arms | Collections of Family Histories | Gazetteers or Geographical Dictionaries | German Surnames | Handbooks, Guides, Manuals & Lists | Other German-Speaking Countries | Periodicals | Yearbooks
Atlases
- Bundesrepublik Deutschland : Euro-Reiseatlas 1:300.000. Sonderausg. München: RV Verlag, 1990.
Memorial Library Reference: G 6295 R3 1990 - DDR : Berlin : Euro-Reiseatlas 1:300.000. Sonderausg. München: RV Verlag, 1990.
Memorial Library Oversize: G 6090 R3 1990 - Deutscher Generalatlas. Stuttgart: Mairs Geographischer Verlag, 1966.
Memorial Library Reference: Atlas Case G 1910 M3 1966 - Ravenstein, Ludwig, comp. Atlas des Deutschen Reichs. Leipzig: Bibliographisches Institut, 1883.
Memorial Library Reference: GZ 47 R19 (ask at Reference Desk) - Thode, Ernest. Atlas for Germanic genealogy. 2nd rev. ed. [Marietta, OH] : E. Thode, 1983.
Memorial Library Reference: G 1912.2 T5 1983
Bibliography
- Dimpfel, Rudolf. Biographische Nachschlagewerke, Adelslexika, Wappenbücher. 2., um ein Namenregister verm. Aufl. Wiesbaden: M. Sändig, 1969.
Memorial Library Reference: Z 5301 D58 1969
(Lists works useful for German genealogy) - Evangelisches Zentralarchiv in Berlin. Verzeichnis der Kirchenbücher im Evangelischen Zentralarchiv in Berlin. Berlin: Das Zentralarchiv, 1985- .
Memorial Library Stacks: CD 1377 B455 E95 1985 - Familiengeschichtliche Bibliographie. Wiesbaden: M. Sändig, 1969. 6 vols. (Reprint of 1928 edition)
Memorial Library Stacks: CS 628 F35 1969
(Lists genealogies published between 1900-1937 by family name. Vol. 5, Heraldische Bibliographie, also in Stacks under Z 5313 G4 F2.) - Familiengeschichtliche Quellen. Leipzig: Degener & Co., v. 1-17, 1926/30-1991.
Memorial Library Location: Stacks AP F1975
(Index to various sources of German family history, including vols. of Deutsches Geschlechterbuch, listed under Collections of Family Histories section, below.) - Heinzmann, Franz. Bibliographie gedruckter Familiengeschichten 1946-1960. Düsseldorf: F. Heinzmann, 1990.
Memorial Library Location: Stacks CS 628 H44 1990 - Henning, Eckart. Bibliographie zur Heraldik: Schrifttum Deutschlands und Österreichs bis 1980. Köln: Bohlau, 1984.
Memorial Library Reference: CR 1838 H4 1984 - Henning, Eckart. Kirchenbücher : Bibliographie gedruckter Tauf-, Trau, und Totenregister sowie der Bestandsverzeichnisse im deutschen Sprachgebiet. Neustadt/Aisch: Degener, 1991.
Memorial Library Reference: CS 633 H45 1991 - Jahresberichte für deutsche Geschichte. Berlin: Akademie-Verlag, 1925- .
Memorial Library Reference: Z 2236 J26
(Useful source for regional histories)
Also available on CD-ROM in Reference - Wellauer, Maralyn A. A guide to foreign genealogical research: a selected bibliography of printed material with addresses. Rev. ed. Milwaukee: Wellauer, 1976.
Memorial Library Reference: CS 9 W44 1976
Biography
- Biographisches Wörterbuch zur deutschen Geschichte. 2., völl. neubearb. u. stark erw. Aufl. München: Francke Verlag, 1973-75. 3 v.
Memorial Library Reference: DD 85 R6 1973
(Contains family tree charts of German royal families.) - Deutscher biographischer Index = German biographical index München: K.G. Saur, 1998. 8 v.
Memorial Library Reference: CT 1054 D48 1998
(Index to Deutsches biographisches Archiv, listed below) - Deutsches biographisches Archiv. Willi Gorzny, ed. München: K.G. Saur, [1990?]-[1993].
Memorial Library Reference: Microfiche 5967
(cumulation of 254 of the most important biographical reference works for Germany through the end of the 19th century.) - Friedrichs, Elisabeth. Lebensbilder-Register. Alphabetisches Verzeichnis der in den deutschen regionalen Lebensbilder-Sammelbänden behandelten Personen. Neustadt/Aisch: Degener, 1971.
Memorial Library Reference: CT 1053 F75
(Index to persons in biographical lists by region held by Memorial Library)
(Note other books at Desk and in the Reference Stacks in the CT 1053 and DD 84-85 sections for well-known names)
Coat of Arms
- Bauer, Konrad F. Das Bürgerwappen: ein Buch von den Wappen und Eigenmarken der deutschen Bürger und Bauern. Frankfurt/Main: Verlag der Hauserpresse, 1935.
Memorial LibraryStacks: CR 1834 B3
(Brief history of German heraldry) - Großes Wappen-Bilder-Lexikon der bürgerlichen Geschlechter Deutschlands, Österreichs und der Schweiz. München: E. Battenberg, 1985.
Special Collections, Room 976: CR 57 G3 G7 1985
(Examples of coats of arms by family names) - Hussman, Heinrich. Über deutsche Wappenkunst. Wiesbaden: Guido Pressler Verlag, 1973.
Memorial Library Stacks: CR 1823 H87 1973
(Explains elements found in German coats of arms) - Lexikon Städte und Wappen der Deutschen Demokratischen Republik. 2. neubearb, und erweiterte Aufl. Leipzig: VEB Verlag Enzyklopädie, 1984.
Memorial Library Reference: DD 261 B54 1984
(Coats of arms for cities in the former East Germany) - Steimel, Robert. Die Wappen der bundesdeutschen Landkreise. Köln: Steimel-Verlag, [1964].
Memorial Library Stacks: CR 553 A4
(Coats of arms for cities of pre-re-unification West Germany) - (Check also the MadCat and card catalogs under subject HERALDRY—GERMANY—[area name, for example, COLOGNE]. Most of these are in the Stacks in the CR section.)
Collections of Family Histories
- Die Ahnen deutscher Bauernführer. Bd. 1-37. Berlin: Reichsnährstand Verlags-GmbH., 1935-36.
Special Collections Room 976: E47 AH6 Cutter
(peasant leaders) - Deutsches Geschlechterbuch. Vol. 1- , 1889- to date. Charlottenburg: F. Mahler (etc.), 1889- .
Memorial Library Location: Stacks CS 621 D5
(middle class, Bürger genealogies - indexed by Familiengeschichtliche Quellen, in Bibliographies section, above.) - Genealogisches Handbuch des Adels. Glücksburg/Ostsee : C.A. Starke, 1951- .
Memorial Library Stacks: CS 617 G45
(aristocracy) - Semigothaisches genealogisches Taschenbuch. München: Kyffhäuser, 1913. (Jewish-aristocratic alliances)
Memorial Library Stacks: CS 28 S4
Gazetteers or Geographical Dictionaries
- Adomeit, Heinz. Ortslexikon der Deutschen Demokratischen Republik. 2., neu bearb. Aufl. Berlin: Staatsverlag der DDR, 1974.
Memorial Library Reference: DD 14 A63 1974 - Columbia Lippincott Gazetteer of the World. With 1961 supplement. Morningside Heights, N.Y.: Columbia University Press, 1962.
Special Collections Rm. 976 G 103 L7 1962 - Kaemmerer, M. Ortsnamenverzeichnis der Ortschaften jenseits von Oder und Neiße. 3. Aufl., erw. Leer : Rautenberg, 1988.
Memorial Library Reference: DK 4600 O332 K34 1988
(Cross-references from pre-war German names to present Polish names) - Lippincotts New Gazetteer. Philadelphia and London: J.B. Lippincott Co., 1906.
Memorial Library Reference: G 103 L7 1906(Pre-war German place names listed) - Meyers Orts- und Verkehrs-Lexikon des Deutschen Reiches. Reprint of 1912 ed. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Pub., 2000. 3 v.
Memorial Library Stacks: DD 14 M5 2000 - Meyers Orts- und Verkehrslexikon des Deutschen Reiches. 6. Aufl. Leipzig: Bibliographisches Institut, 1935.
Memorial Library Reference: DD 14 M5
(Good source of older German place names) - Müller, Joachim. Müllers großes deutsches Ortsbuch: Bundesrepublik Deutschland. 26. Aufl. Wuppertal: Post- und Ortsbuchverlag, 1996.
Memorial Library Reference: DD 14 M84 1996
(Place names in today's Germany) - Verdenhalven, Fritz. Kleiner historischer Städtenamen-Schlüssel für Deutschland und die ehemaligen deutschen Gebiete. Neustadt/Aisch: Degener, 1970.
Memorial Library Reference: DD 15 V47
(Older to present names and vice versa)
German Surnames
- Bahlow, Hans. Deutsches Namenlexikon: Familien- und Vornamen nach Ursprung und Sinn erklärt. Frankfurt am Main: Suhrkamp, 1985.
Memorial Library Stacks: CS 2541 B34 1985 - Bahlow, Hans. Dictionary of German names. Madison, Wis. : Max Kade Institute of German-American Studies, University of Wisconsin, 1993.
Memorial Library Reference: CS 2541 B34 1993 - Brechenmacher, Josef Karlmann. Etymologisches Wörterbuch der deutschen Familiennamen. Limburg a.d. Lahn: C.A. Starke Verlag, 1957. 2 v.
Memorial Library Reference: CS 2545 B72 - Duden Familiennamen : Herkunft und Bedeutung. Mannheim : Bibliographisches Institut & F.A. Brockhaus, 2000
Memorial Library Reference: CS 2545 D8 2000 - Gottschald, Max. Deutsche Namenkunde. 5., verb. Aufl. Berlin: de Gruyter, 1982.
Memorial Library Reference: CS 2545 G6 1982 - Jones, George Fenwick. German-American names. 2nd ed. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co, 1995.
Memorial Library Reference: CS 2487 J66 1995 - Kunze, Konrad. DTV-Atlas Namenkunde : Vor- und Familiennamen im deutschen Sprachgebiet. München : Deutscher Taschenbuch Verlag, 1998
Memorial Library Reference: CS 2545 K85 1998
Handbooks, Guides, Manuals & Lists
- Baxter, Angus. In search of your German roots: a complete guide to tracing your ancestors in the Germanic areas of Europe. 3rd ed. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1994.
Memorial Library Reference: CS 613 B38 1994 - Dearden, Fay. The German researcher: how to get the most out of an L-D-S branch genealogical library. Minneapolis: Family Tree Press, 1983.
Memorial Library Reference: CS 614 D4 1983 - Genealogical guide to German ancestors from East Germany and eastern Europe. AgoFF-Wegweiser English ed. Neustadt/Aisch : Verlag Degener, 1984.
Memorial Library Reference: CS 614 G34 1984 - Germanic genealogy : a guide to worldwide sources and migration patterns. 2nd ed. St. Paul, MN: Germanic Genealogy Society, c1997.
Memorial Library Reference: CS 614 G47 1997 - Henning, Eckart. Handbuch der Genealogie. Neustadt/Aisch: Verlag Degener, 1972.
Memorial Library Reference: CS 11 H35 - Jensen, Larry O. A Genealogical handbook of German research. Rev. ed. Pleasant Grove, UT: Jensen, 1980.
Memorial Library Reference: CS 614 J46 1980 - Lind, Marilyn. Researching and finding your German heritage. Cloquet, MN: Linden Tree, 1984.
Memorial Library Reference: CS 614 L56 1984 - Smelser, Ronald M. Preliminary survey of the German collection. Salt Lake City: University of Utah Press, 1979.
Memorial Library Reference: CS 613 P7 - Smith, Clifford Neal. Encyclopedia of German-American genealogical research. New York: R.R. Bowker Co., 1976.
Memorial Library Reference: E 184 G3 S66 - Storrer, Norman J. A genealogical and demographic handbook of German handwriting, 17th-19th centuries. Pleasant Grove, UT: Storrer, 1977.
Memorial Library Reference: Z 115 G4 S86 - Taschenbuch für Familiengeschichtsforschung. 11., vollst. neubearb. u. erw. Aufl. Neustadt/Aisch: Degener, 1995.
Memorial Library Reference: CS 18 T36 1995 - Thode, Ernest. Address book for Germanic genealogy. 6th ed. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Pub., c1997.
Memorial Library Reference: CS 611 T48 1997 - Thode, Ernest. German-English genealogical dictionary. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1992.
Memorial Library Reference: CS 6 T48 1992 - Wegweiser für Forschungen nach Vorfahren aus den ostdeutschen und sudetendeutschen Gebietesowie aus den deutschen Siedlungsräumen in Mittel-, Ost-, und Südosteuropa : (AgoFF-Wegweiser). 2. wesentlich erw. Aufl. Neustadt (Aisch) : Degener, 1982.
Memorial Library Reference: CS 684 W44 1982 - Wellauer, Maralyn A. Family history research in the German Democratic Republic. Milwaukee: Roots International, 1987.
Memorial Library Reference: CS 613 W45 1987 - Wellauer, Maralyn A. Record keeping and archives in West Germany. Milwaukee: Roots International, 1987.
Memorial Library Reference: CD 1221 W45 1987 2 - Wellauer, Maralyn A. Tracing your German roots. Milwaukee: Wellauer, 1978
Memorial Library Reference: CS 614 W3
Other German-Speaking Countries
- Familiennamenbuch der Schweiz. 2., erw. Aufl. Zürich: Polygraphischer Verlag, 1968-1971. 6 v.
Memorial Library Location: Stacks CS 2625 F34
(lists Swiss surnames and towns they came from.) - Family research for Americans of Swiss descent. New York: Swiss National Tourist Office, [1986].
Location: Historical Society Library Pamphlet Collection 89-1141 - Historisch-Biographisches Lexikon der Schweiz. Neuenburg: V. Attinger, 1934. 7 vols. + 1 supp.
Memorial Library Reference: DQ 51 D6 - Nielson, Paul Anthon. Swiss genealogical research: an introductory guide. Virginia Beach, VA: Donning, 1978.
Memorial Library Reference: E 184 S9 N53 - Senekovic, Dagmar. Handy guide to Austrian genealogical records. Logan, Utah: Everton Publishers, 1979.
Memorial Library Reference: CS 504 S46 - Wellauer, Maralyn. Genealogy in Austria. Milwaukee: Roots International, 1985.
Memorial Library Reference: CS 503 W3 1985 - Wellauer, Maralyn. Tracing your Swiss roots. Milwaukee: Wellauer, 1979.
Historical Society Library Pamphlet Collection, 80-1884
Periodicals
- Der deutsche Herold. Berlin: Verein für Siegel- und Wappenkunde, v. 1-65, 1870-1934.
Memorial Library Location: AP D491 H561
(Merged into Familiengeschichtliche Blätter, below.) - Familiengeschichtliche Blätter. Leipzig: Zentralstelle für deutsche Personen-und Familiengeschichte .. , v. 1-42, 1903-1942.
Memorial Library Location: AP F1973
Yearbooks
- Gothaisches genealogisches Taschenbuch der adeligen Häuser. Gotha: J. Perthes. Teil A. v. 1-41, 1900-42 (inc.)
Memorial Library Location: E47 G709 A - Gothaisches genealogisches Taschenbuch der adeligen Häuser. Gotha: J. Perthes. Teil B. v. 7-34, 1913-1942 (inc.).
Memorial Library Cutter Collection: E47 G709 B - Gothaisches genealogisches Taschenbuch der gräflichen Häuser. Gotha: J. Perthes. v. 62-115, 1889-1942 (inc.)
Memorial Library Cutter Collection: E47 G71
Last updated: 26 January 2006